St. Brendan's Community School



Little Shop of Horrors

Ever since it premiered in 1982, 'Little Shop of Horrors' has scarified legions of fans. The sci-fi musical comedy by the legendary team of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken is likely performed somewhere in the world at any given time. However, it was the turn of the students of St Brendan's Community School, Birr this year.
The production had a stellar cast of students including James Corrigan as the nerdy Seymour, Saoirse Lalor as ditzy Audrey, William Holmes as shop owner, Mr Mushnik, and the utterly incomparable Christopher Masterson as Orin, Audrey's cruel boyfriend. Other outstanding performances were given by Brid Connors as the voice of Audrey II.

Many of show's thrills owe much to Ashman and Menken's catchy, clever score featuring 1950s doowop infected tunes such as 'Da-doo' and the title song, 'Little Shop of Horrors', performed by the Second Year chorus, and all enlivened by the terrific Ronnettes (Grace Cashen, Lisa Grimes, Anna Morris, Grainne Nolan, Anna Dickson and Eve Murray), wailing with supreme attitude.

With the audience firmly planted to their seats on the night, the secret to this production's success was also due to the fantastic direction by music director, Mr O'Connor. Full of giddy choreography, a chirpy see-what-sticks approach and a somewhat daft script, this production of 'Little Shop of Horrors' allowed this student cast to excel on stage with outstanding and impressive performances. And, it's safe to say that musical theatre in St Brendan's Community School, Birr is certainly thriving since the school put on its first production 38 years ago.

Oct 06
Parent Tutor Day
Oct 20
Limerick Colleges Open Day trip for 6th Years
Nov 10
6th Year Parent Teacher meeting
Nov 15
3rd Year Parent Teacher meeting
Huge congratulations to all our past pupils on winning the Senior County Championship title for the very first time today in Tullamore. We are very proud of our strong connection with the Shinrone Club. Comhghairdeas libh go léir!
Big congratulations to all our current and past pupils on winning the County Junior B title today, in Tullamore. Crinkill Abu
Members of the DSK 13A Offaly Hurling Champions who recently brought their trophy into school.. Pictured with our Principal are LtoR: Jack Collins, Aodhan Carroll,, Kieran Coughlan (Co-Capt), Aaron Quegan, Rory McIntyre and Orlando Dainauskas Missing
Cappaneale, Birr, Co. Offaly
057 912 0510
© 2022 St. Brendan's Community School